July 24, 2024

OSAWATOMIE — The Osawatomie Trojans will see more of the Iola Broncos in the future. Iola is joining the Pioneer League in a year. The only 2-A team in the Pioneer League, Jayhawk-Linn, is dropping out to join the Three Rivers League, which has smaller schools. The switch means that Iola will go from being the smallest school in the Southeast Kansas League, which it helped form in 1927; to being the largest school in the Pioneer League. Osawatomie principal Doug Chisam told the Osawatomie Journal that Iola already plays many of the Pioneer League schools and is a good fit for the league in both athletic, band and academic activities. The vote to bring in Iola was approved unanimously by league members. The remaining league members are Anderson County, Prairie View, Wellsville and Central Heights.
Tuesday, Nov. 23, 9:30 a.m.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *